1

I’ve always been very open with people wanting to know the way I do certain things with my leatherwork. While these things have taken me a lifetime of trial and error to figure out I thought I should share them. More and more though I see that the people that I am helping for their “hobby” are suddenly in business. I don’t know about anyone else but when I put good money out for something I want it made by someone that is very established and knows what they are doing. A couple months and a tip or two doesn’t make you an expert. With that being said I’m afraid I’m going to have to take the path of many craftsmen and hold my knowledge to myself. I’m over seeing half assed work put out. When it’s from someone I’ve given some help to I feel that it’s partly my fault. If it was just a hobby for them then that type of work is part of the learning process. But when it’s for sale it’s an entirely other story. When the biker build off things were going on a bunch of people went out and bought leather craft tools and were “in business”. They are all gone now and I guess it’s time for another round. I do enjoy snatching up some of the tools they bought and didn’t know how to use though. So I apologize to those of you who were truly just curious as to how I did certain things. But I don’t have a choice. I learned from my mother, reading everything I could get my hands on, and years of trial and error. I still like to hear from other leatherworkers that want to show me their work or have something to say about mine. I hope everyone understands. Thanks.